Getting the viral marketing thing

March 6, 2008 at 6:45 pm 4 comments

Helena Bouchez

In addition to contributing to Diabloguer, I also maintain my own personal blog, where I wax poetic about all things bass guitar and being a 40-something female in the era of Demi and Desperate Housewives.

The sole purpose of my blog is to chronicle what is floating my boat or sinking my ship that day. According to Sitemeter, I only get about 25 to 50 visits a day so advertisers are not beating a path to my doorstep, trust me. And I’m in no danger of becoming the next Wonkette. In fact, I’m pretty sure the only people who peep it regularly are my friends – and that’s perfectly fine with me.

Once in a while, however, I am surprised by who reads. For example, last night I wrote and published a post titled “Low Bandwidth Blues,” in which I lamented my slow home Internet connection and complained about Comcast.

This morning I received an e-mail notification that Mark C., a representative from Comcast’s executive offices, had commented on my post. He apologized for my inconvenience and said that if I sent him my account number he’d do his best to help rectify the problem.

Hmmm. It seems some marketers have caught on to how to leverage this blogging thing. Since January, I’ve received responses from the marketing and/or PR departments of at least three companies whose products I’ve blogged about, including natural makeup maker Mineral Fusion and video/chat provider Oovoo.com. Did it make me feel better about the brands? More engaged? Cared about?

You bet.

Of course, I published Mark’s comment. You see, I’m not opposed to saying nice things about Comcast. Comcast just had to give me something nice to talk about. More to the point, not only did I comment back on my own blog, but I’m also writing about my experience over here, essentially giving Comcast another shot of (badly needed) love. And Mineral Fusion and Oovoo.com got another well-deserved buss on the cheek as well.

So now, those who read my blog know what my experiences have been with all three brands. Similarly, readers of this blog will learn a bit more, with positive takeaways. Some of them will share with their friends. And then their friends also may pass the word on. You get the picture.

That’s the kind of power social media represents – and what marketers are buzzing about. Viral marketing: it’s a powerful way to build a brand.

Entry filed under: Branding, Marketing Strategy, New/Social Media.

PR’s world: bad writing, bad pitching and PO’d journalists And the battle twixt technocrats and luddites rages

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill Sledzik  |  March 7, 2008 at 2:13 am

    The responses you’ve gotten are encouraging, Helena. A little more than a year ago I was part of a survey of PR professionals that showed only about 20% were even attempting to monitor the blogsphere. We’ve come a long, long way since then — the miracle of Google Alerts, I suppose.

    But twice I have raged (on my own blog) about my bad experiences with my cable company, Time Warner. No response. I’m sure they see me as another old crank. My wife says the same thing!

    Reply
  • 2. hbouchez  |  March 7, 2008 at 3:09 am

    What’s interesting to me is that I wasn’t even bashing them particularly hard (Comcast).

    Also interesting: I got a follow up comment from Mark C. offering help again, and I took him up on it after the tech who installed my new router couldn’t answer some of my questions. An ESL manager responded almost right away.

    So, when’s the last time you groused about Time Warner? I’m thinking it might be time for another post!

    Reply
  • 3. Suzanne Langley  |  March 19, 2008 at 4:15 am

    “Low Bandwidth Blues,”

    Go get them girl – someone has to shake them up.

    Cheers .

    Reply
  • 4. vviralmarketing  |  March 26, 2008 at 12:04 am

    I think it is the common problem even and it is going to increase with viral marketing is the kind you pass along, such as email, instant messaging, text messaging, blogs, face book, myspace, and so forth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Us

Questions? Other comments? E-mail us: info@hodgeschindler.com.

Visit our Web site at www.hodgeschindler.com.

AddThis

Bookmark and Share

Follow Us



Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories


